enough water makes all rocks round

More Praise for “Expert Python Programming”

The kind folks at Packt Publishing contacted me two weeks ago and asked if I would review Expert Python Programmingin exchange for a free copy. I enjoy free things, especially beer, even if there’s a bit of work involved, so I agreed. The book arrived a few days later as promised.

The book is great. If you’re inclined to buy it, do so. If you’re at that point in your path with Python where advancement is required, this book is highly recommended. If you’re not either of those things, I believe you still may find something of interest and suggest you give it a peek.

Substantively, the book is a grab-bag of ideas and topics. The text is clear, brisk, and lacking in extras and verbosity that is too often found in technical publications. (I particularly liked that the “Conventions” section took only a half page). What Tarek has done is what a mentor would do: he shows you a modern development toolchain and modern development techniques centered around Python. He walks you through the mechanics of these techniques and tools, explaining how all of these wonderful things fit together to help you. It’s not just programs as commands, either, there’s plenty of space devoted to development practice and project management. On that front, too, he’s a sound advocate for sound practices.

I have only two quibbles with the content. First, why no WSGI chapter? I can appreciate the desire to stay away from writing about the marshlands that are Python Web Frameworks, but to omit WSGI completely seems like an error. Second and last, an entire chapter is spent talking about and advocating good name choice. And yet chapters two and three are full of references of mydecorator and MyClass. It made me cringe, and I hope that the meaning behind the words is not lost to other readers. I prefer RocketLaunchers and MoutainClimbingBoots to MyAnthing any day.

The other reviews of this book are equally positive, so I won’t cover the chapters individually. But I will say that there’s enough in each chapter to get you started well with the topic. Each chapter could take a whole book, but that it doesn’t is the point: they are beginnings, openings, not final destinations. I’ve come to think of Tarke’s book as an adventure guide, similar to the Milepost available here in Alaska. Python has always been a land of wonder and adventure for me, and if you’re looking for such a guide, Expert Python Programming is a befitting choice.

Update: Chapter 10 is available here for your enjoyment.

Comments are closed.